Sub Zero hits us with the incredible Bi-Polar EP this week. We caught up with him to find out more about the new change in direction.

 

Bass Command : How did you become involved with Playaz ?

 

Sub Zero : That was quite a while ago now in my G Dub days, me and Original Sin had left Formation Records and were doing our own label Propaganda Recordings. Hype just approached us to come on the label and we jumped at the chance. The rest as they say is history.

 

BC : You have a number of re-mixes under your belt now. Would you say you prefer writing your own tunes or re-mixing other peoples ?

 

SZ :  Good question. I love remixing other peoples stuff but also at times it can be quite hard work, especially if it’s a big project. There’s a lot of pressure to deliver, but I suppose I also relish the challenge and when u pull it off it’s a great buzz. I however don’t think anything can compare to creating and writing your own music from scratch. It’s a pretty incredible thing to do. You can’t beat having a blank canvas to create whatever u like on. That is the ultimate buzz.

 

BC : Do you have any strange studio rituals ? (Kissing a lucky egg, or any unusual food combos etc?)

 

SZ : lol nothing really. I drink lots of tea (earl grey) and I probably tend to go a bit weird spending a lot of time by myself in the studio, talking to myself and often jumping around like a nutter and shouting (if things are going well).

 

BC : Talk us through the new EP.

 

SZ : It’s just basically a strange mix of nice and nasty lol. Hopefully everyone can find something they like in there. My Step Mum really loves Protection but I think she probably hates Your Flex and Run And Hide, where as I know clubbers and ravers love those tunes (I hope anyway) so hopefully ticking all the boxes. I love the idea of having tunes that smash a club and tunes u can listen to at home when you’re chilling out etc. I suppose in that sense the EP is kind of a mini album and any great album should have diversity and surprises.

 

BC : You’ve talked about wanting to change the perception of you as a jump-up producer. There were a number of tracks already showing this last year. What diverse sounds can we expect from you this year & will you continue to make the occasional banger ?

 

SZ : lol don’t get it twisted, I still make bangers and totally addicted to writing smashers, especially with DJing a lot. Who knows what will happen next, expect the unexpected I always say !!! I don’t want to be pigeon holed or tied down to any style. I will have lots of new bangers for 2012.